blog

GOD GIVEN

I wanted to share my thoughts of how I got here. For the past 5 months or so, I have struggled with where life was taking me and how I was suppose to fit in (speaking of my future, glass ceilings and such.) Add to that a slow economy, plus two solid months of being inflicted with a wicked siatic nerve issue to boot, left me pondering my future. It's funny how God has to let "life" beat you up to get your attention. Back on track for me transltes to using He gave me. I've known since was a kid that I would be an artist. Knowing this, contrary to what most might think, brought much heartache and doubts. As a kid, success meant being rich and famous, so I worked hard to be the best that I could be and waited for my fame and fortune. I got good at my craft, but where was my reward? As I matured, I begin to redefine "sucess."  I also begin to not believe in what I always knew (I was gifted.) I looked for validation through people or jobs. I stopped counting on the one thing that carried me. It must be going to happen when I get older - or maybe become famos after I'm gone maybe. 

 

With my direction uncertain, I now dig deep to believe once again believe in the gift that as given to me. I am working on art day and night, I have ideas that have not even started on yet. I had to stop being the perputual student trying to get better and put myself and my work out into the world. It takes a lot for me to step forward and present my work for public consumption. Yet, I stand today proad of myself and proad of what I have accoplised in the past to weeks - new art, prints of the art, a newly revamped web page and a store where all said art can be purchased. Thank you to those you appreciate my work, those encouraged throught the years and those who are moved enough to want to on my work. 

Write a comment

Comments: 4
  • #1

    Kris Rasnick Bryant (Thursday, 04 August 2011 22:40)

    Your talent has always been evident....and I'm grateful that you are finally putting it out there. BRAVO< Walter!!!

  • #2

    Ken Suitt (Wednesday, 10 August 2011 13:59)

    Walt, I remember quite clearly in class when you did your first cut paper piece. You didn't search out the origins of cut paper. You didn't study the past masters. You paved your own way, not even knowing that there were past masters to study!

    While there is a part of you that will always be the perpetual student, (there has to be in order for you to grow and evolve) trust that there has always been a part of you that is the teacher, the innovator, and the trailblazer.

    Keep putting your art out there for us to enjoy and trust that your fortunes will come. God has already rewarded you with a prodigious talent...now it's time to share your gift with the world.

  • #3

    Melissa Hays (Wednesday, 17 August 2011 21:54)

    It's so great seeing your work and reading your comments above. Being who you are is so much more fulfilling than being rich and famous. At least I think so because the latter has never been an option for me:) Blessings!

  • #4

    Walter Land (Thursday, 18 August 2011 01:25)

    Thank you guys for taking time to read this entry. Please forgive the typos, it was extremely late and I was trying to get the ideas out. Now I'm like, oh my goodness! Lol! Thank you again. It's funny how the people who have responded thus far were there from the start.